I’m a Dietitian, so I’m always checking out labels. I personally don’t like artificial sweeteners and try to avoid corn syrup. Surf Sweets are made with organic fruit juice and sweeteners, natural colors and flavors, and are fortified with vitamin C. You won’t find corn syrup or genetically modified organisms (GMOs) in their products. You also won’t find Yellow 5, Red 40 and other artificial colorings that are said to be linked to hyperactivity and other behavioral problems in children.
Surf Sweets products are made in a nut free facility and are also gluten and casein free. They are a great treat for people who have specific food allergies and intolerances since they are free of the eight most common allergens. The eight most common allergens are: Milk, Eggs, Peanuts, Tree nuts (such as almonds, cashews, walnuts), Fish (such as bass, cod, flounder), Shellfish (such as crab, lobster, shrimp), Soy and Wheat. Many of Surf Sweets products are also vegetarian and vegan.
I was on Twitter about a week ago and decided to let Surf Sweets know that I was impressed with their candy. I didn’t even expect a reply, but I ended up getting a box from Surf Sweets a day later with their entire product line. Thank you Surf Sweets!
Surf Sweets Jelly Beans (click on the link to get Nutrition Facts and Ingredients)
The Jelly Beans are vegetarian and made with 97% organic ingredients (Products with at least 95% organic ingredients can use the word "organic".) I believe they aren’t vegan because of the confectioner’s glaze. It’s hard to tell, but I think the flavors are grapefruit, cherry, lemon, orange and grape. Since natural colors are used (black carrot juice, turmeric, annatto), the jelly beans are muted in color. Pectin is used as a gelling agent. The jelly beans have a hard shell and have a chewy consistency like traditional jelly beans.
Surf Sweets Sour Worms
The Sour Worms are vegan and are made with 92% organic ingredients. They are tart, but not very sour. The worms have a pleasant citrus flavor and are soft and chewy.
Surf Sweets Fruity Bears
The Fruity Bears are vegan and made with 96% organic ingredients. They are soft and chewy. I believe the flavors are the same as the jelly beans.
Surf Sweets Gummy Swirls
Gummy Swirls are vegan and made with 87% organic ingredients. The Gummy Swirls were my favorite because they were unique and had a little bit of a “creamy” flavor. They are very soft and chewy, which I like.
Surf Sweets Gummy Bears
The Gummy Bears contain gelatin, so they aren’t vegetarian. They contain 91% organic ingredients. They look similar to traditional gummy bears, but have a stronger fruit flavor. They are very chewy. I recognized one of the flavors to be grapefruit.
Surf Sweets Gummy Worms
The Gummy Worms also contain gelatin, so they aren’t friendly to vegetarians or vegans. They contain 91% organic ingredients. They were a little too hard and chewy for me. My teeth hurt a bit after having a couple worms.
Surf Sweets natural and organic candy is a good choice for an occasional treat. I’m not saying the candy is healthy and should replace nutrient dense snacks like fruit and vegetables. However, some children and adults want a sweet treat once in a while. Surf Sweets products are great for holidays, to take along to the movies, or just as a small treat!
- Made with Organic Fruit Juice & Sweeteners
- Natural Colors and Flavors
- 100% of Your Daily Vitamin C
- Free of Corn Syrup and GMOs
- Made in a Nut Free Facility
- Gluten Free
- Casein Free
- Gummy Swirls, Fruity Bears and Sour Worms are Vegan
- Jelly Beans are Vegetarian
Surf Sweets FAQ
Feingold Association of the United States
American Academy of Pediatrics ADHD and Food Additives Revisited